Nottingham Trent University

Nottingham Trent University (NTU) was created by the merger of several educational institutions. Its origin dates back to the establishment of Nottingham Government School of Design in 1843. This design school is still a part of the university. NTU received its current name and the status of a university in 1992. This public research university is the UK’s 13th largest university. It consists of eight academic schools, each accredited by the relevant professional body or organization.

NTU has four world-class campuses across Nottingham in England, UK. City Campus has Nottingham Law School, Nottingham Business School, School of Architecture, School of Art & Design, Design and the Built Environment, the Centre of Broadcasting and Journalism and School of Social Sciences. It also houses Boot Library, Global Lounge, and The Hive, which is the university’s center of entrepreneurship. Clifton Campus includes the School of Science and Technology, Nottingham Institute of Education and the School of Arts and Humanities. It is also home to Green Zone, ISTeC Centre, The Point, sports center and Pavilion.

Brackenhurst Campus houses the School of Animal, Rural and Environmental Sciences (ARES), the Veterinary Nursing building and a hi-tech glasshouse. Creative Quarter Campus includes the Confetti Institute of Creative Technologies, the Digital Media Hub, a media production lab, Television Studio, and a screening room. All the campuses offer excellent, academic and administrative facilities. Students are also provided with great residential and dining amenities.

NTU offers a number of undergraduate, postgraduate, online and degree apprenticeship courses in various fields like journalism, social science, nursing, business, sciences, law, education, arts, psychology, marketing, creative technologies, design, management, and sports. It houses many international students and an excellent team of qualified faculty members. The university has very high placement statistics. 96% of its 2015-16 postgraduates were employed or enrolled for further studies within six months of course completion. It has over 70 research centers and groups. NTU maintains collaborations with numerous international institutions and organizations. It is a member of Midlands Enterprise Universities, the Talloires Network, and the International Santander Universities Network. Also, it has links with reputable foreign universities like Donghua University in Shanghai and the University of Seoul in South Korea.

NTU has a lot of distinguished alumni across the globe. Matt Berry is a popular actor and comedian who has appeared in various series like The IT Crowd, The Mighty Boosh, Snuff Box, Garth Marenghi’s Darkplace, House of Fools and The Wrong Door. Olav Bjortomt is an award-winning quiz player who has won the world championship four times. Christopher Blanchett is a journalist who works for the BBC. Varun Dhawan is a well-known Indian actor who has appeared in a number of commercially successful films like Main Tera Hero, Badlapur, Badrinath Ki Dulhania, and Sui Dhaaga. Stephen Dixon is a journalist who works as a news presenter for Sky News. Several other notable people have graduated from NTU over the years.