University of Kansas

The University of Kansas, better known as KU, is a university for public research having its chief campus in Lawrence of Kansas. There are many satellite campuses, educational and research centers, classes and medical centers all over the state of Kansas. There are two branch campuses in the Kansas City metropolitan area. There are research and educational sites in the Garden City, Hays, Leavenworth, Parsons and Topeka with branches of medical schools in Wichita and Salina. KU is a part of the Association of American Universities.

The university was established on March 21, 1865. They are affiliated to the Kansas Board of Regents and AAC&U, ACE, AAU, APLU, and Educause. The financial endowment of the university is 1.741 billion dollars as of 2018. The chancellor is Doug Girod and the provost is Barbara Bichelmeyer. The total number of academic staffing is 2,663, with 28,423 students being part of the university, as of fall in 2019. The university had opened under a charter that was granted by the Kansas State Legislature in 1864, which was passed in 1863 under the constitution of the state.

It was adopted 2 years after the admission of former Kansas territory in 1861 as the 34th State of the union. The athletic teams of the university compete in the NCAA Division I of sports as Jayhawks, and they are members of the Big 12 conference. There are 16 sports in the varsity and there are also club-level sports, for which they play rugby, men’s volleyball, and ice hockey. The governor of Kansas, Thomas Carney had signed into law a bill that created the KU on February 20th of 1863.

The university has a huge, state-sponsored university along with five campuses. The University of Kansas is a part of the Association of American Universities or the AAU. It is also classified as being among the “R-1: doctoral Universities-Highest research activity” by the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education. The KU’s School of business had launched the interdisciplinary management Science graduate studies in the operations research during the fall semester of 1965.

Their computer department was an active participant in the setting up of the internet and was a part of the development of the early Lynx text-based website browsers. There are many notable alumni of the college, including two Fields Medal winners, 325 Fulbright scholars, twelve MacArthur Fellows, 27 Rhode scholars, 4 NASA astronauts, seven Pulitzer Prize winners, and three Nobel Prize laureates. There are also two Hugo Award and Nebula Award winners, along with an Academy Award winner. There are special endowments which were founded in 1891 whose objective is to provide philanthropic support to the greater KU