Arizona State University

Arizona State University (ASU) was first founded by the Thirteenth Territorial Legislature in 1885 as Territorial Normal School to provide education in mechanical arts and agriculture. It was later renamed as Arizona State Teachers College and again as Arizona State College in 1945. In 1958, it became Arizona State University with the vote of people and a victory margin of 2-to-1. Currently, the university has numerous schools, colleges, centers, and institutes that offer education in various fields of study. Also, it holds the accreditation of the Higher Learning Commission (HLC).

Arizona State University has five campuses across Phoenix. The Downtown Phoenix campus houses the College of Nursing and Health Innovation, Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College, College of Health Solutions, Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law, College of Integrative Arts and Sciences, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication and College of Public Service and Community Solutions. The Tempe campus is the university’s first and largest campus and has the Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, the School of Sustainability and the School for the Future of Innovation in Society. The west campus offers numerous degree programs from the university’s various colleges and schools. It is known for its incredibly designed entry gates, Fletcher Lawn, and extensive public art.

Located on the former site of Williams Air Force Base, the Polytechnic campus offers degrees in management, engineering, education, interdisciplinary sciences, and technology. The university has a few undergraduate degree-offering colleges in Lake Havasu City. Also, the university owns a few other buildings like ASU California Centre in Santa Monica, Barrett and O’Connor Centre in Washington DC, Thunderbird Campus, and ASU Online. ASU formed an alliance with Mayo Clinic to form the Mayo Clinic School of Medicine.

ASU offers several undergraduate and graduate degree programs, online programs, and certificate programs in a wide array of fields like architecture, arts, business, media, mathematics, education, engineering, entrepreneurship, health, medicine, law, sciences, social sciences, and sports. The university has over 119,500 students across all its campuses and more than 4,700 faculty members. The research-intensive university has a large population of international students and numerous collaborations with international institutions and firms. This helps in providing students with a global perspective and excellent career opportunities.

ASU has nearly 500,000 alumni across the world. Many famous and distinguished personalities are a part of this network. Barbara Barrett has served as the U.S. Ambassador to Finland. Matthew Desmond has won the MacArthur Foundation “Genius Grant”. Doug Ducey is Arizona’s governor. Mary Temple Grandin is a popular author, autism spokesperson, and an animal behavior expert. Aaron Matos is the CEO and founder of and the founder of Several other notable and successful personalities are associated with the university.