University of California – San Francisco Campus

The University of California in San Francisco was established in 1864 and is known to be a major medical research center. Initially, it was named as the Toland Medical College. The university associated with California University in 1873, and in 1881 it developed a Dentistry School. The School of Medicine at the San Francisco campus is the oldest medical school in the Western United States. In 1872, the College of Pharmacy was opened which became a well-known institute at the university. In the 20th century, a number of research centers were built within the premises. In 1972, a separate building as Nursing School was constructed. Also, in the 1970s, the university decided to expand its area and faculty buildings as it witnessed a growth in the number of enrolments.

The University of California comprises of three main campuses, namely Parnassus, Mission Bay, and Mount Zion. The Parnassus campus was developed in 1898. The medical faculties at this campus are world-famous. Also, it is the first research site in the United States. This campus houses the administration office, research laboratories, the Psychiatric Institute, and the library. In addition, the famous Vision Centre is also located at the campus which is known to be a center for research, diagnosis, and treatment-related to eyesight.

The other campus, Mission Bay is spread over 43 acres of land. It was built in 2003 and has research facilities in the field of life sciences and biotechnology. It features gyms, swimming pools, conference halls, and the Helen Diller Family Cancer Research Centre. Also, two more research centers were opened in 2009. The centers were related to the research of cardiovascular and neuroscience. The Mount Zion campus was established in 1887. It is a hub of specialized medical center clinics and surgery services located in the Western Addition.

Around 3,100 students enrolled in degree programs. Some well-known schools at the university are School of Dentistry, School of Pharmacy, and the School of Nursing. The university offers undergraduate, postgraduate, and doctoral level programs. The academic structure of the university has a variety of courses that gives students opportunities to choose as per their area of interest. The curriculum is well-maintained and organized by the faculty members. Also, students get a chance to undertake industrial visits that in turn offers exposure and practical knowledge.

The university has a list of notable alumni that includes Priscilla Chan (Renowned Pediatrician), Julie Gerberding (Director at the Centre for Disease Control and Prevention), Janet Iwasa (Famous Animator), Shinya Yamanaka (Nobel Prize for Medicine), Stanley Prusiner (Discovered Prions), Nola Hylton (Radiologist), and Michael Harrison (Developed techniques for fetal surgery).