Rockefeller University

private college Estd 1901
New York, New York, USA
Rockefeller University

The Rockefeller University is a privately-owned graduate university which is situated in New York City. Started with an aim to treat infectious diseases, the Rockefeller Institute became the first biomedical research centre in the United States. During its establishment, The Rockefeller was an institute which used to award grants to study, among other public health issues, bacterial contamination in New York City’s milk supply. In the year 1955, The Rockefeller Institute saw an expansion with a mission to provide. In 1959, the institute provided its 1st doctoral degrees. At last, the institute became The Rockefeller University in the year 1965. It is set between 63rd and 68th streets on York Avenue on the Upper East area of Manhattan city. The campus occupies an area of 14 acres with 8 buildings of research containing over 481,000 square feet of lab space, alongside student administrative and housing buildings.

Not just this, the institution of high education is devoted to preserving and protecting the natural atmosphere by using the ideology of sustainable development into all daily operations and processes. It concentrates chiefly on the medical and biological sciences. Moreover, the university offers doctoral and postdoctoral education and known for being the oldest biomedical research establishment in the nation. As far as the programs are concerned, the university offers Science Outreach Program, Bioscience Clinical Research Training Programs, Undergraduate and Postdoctoral Programs. The university is known for working towards improving human wellbeing through transformative discoveries and higher teaching in the life sciences. The university maintains 81 laboratories which are led by a university scientist.

Other than this, there are over 80 heads of laboratories, 200 clinical and research scientists, more than 340 postdoctoral investigators and more than a thousand technicians, clinicians, organizational and helping staff. The university has graduated a number of great scientists. Moreover, as of 2018, the university has 17 members of the National Academy of Medicine, 37 members of the National Academy of Sciences, 5 Nobel laureates and 7 Lasker Award awardees as their faculty. As of 2017, a total of 36 Nobel laureates have been associated with the University. In the history of the university, the 24 Nobel Prizes, 21 Albert Lasker Medical Research Awards, and 20 National Medals of Science has been awarded to the university’s scientists.

Ph.D. Program
  • Duration - 3-5 Years
  • Exams Accepted - TOEFL : Accepted
  • Fees - INR 0 (1st Year Tuition Fees)

View more details

Entry Criteria

Other Courses - 1 CourseTOEFL - Accepted

Admission Requirement

Application feesNo Fees

Approximate Fees

CoursesDurationTuition Fees
Other Courses - 1 Course3 - 5 YearsNo tuition fees
No tuition fees