Harvey Mudd College

In 1955, Harvey Mudd College was established in Claremont. It is a part of the highly prestigious group of The Claremont Colleges. One of the first investors in the Cyprus Mines Corporation was Harvey Seeley Mudd. He had helped in planning this college but had passed away before it opened in 1955. His friends and family helped to fund the college. Thus, the college was named in his honour. Harvey Mudd is a part of the renowned Claremont Colleges. The various dormitories of the colleges have different names. They are the Mildred E. Mudd Hall (also known as the East Hall), the West Hall, the North Hall, the Marks Residence Hall (also known as the South Hall), J.L. Atwood Residence Hall (also known as the Atwood Hall), the Case Residence Hall (also known as the Case Hall), Ronald and Maxine Linde Residence Hall (also known as the Linde Hall), the Frederick and Susan Sontag Residence Hall (also known as the Sontag Hall), and the Wayne and Julie Drinkward Residence Hall (also known as the Drinkward Hall).

Harvey Mudd College’s academic structure has 7 departments. These are the departments of Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences, Arts, Mathematics, and Physics. The Biology Department offers majors in Biology Laboratory, Biostatistics, Comparative Physiology, Ecology and Environmental Biology, Evolutionary Biology, Molecular Biology, and Organic Chemistry. The Department of Chemistry offers Analytical Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Biochemistry, Organic Chemistry, Bioorganic Chemistry, Computational Chemistry, Lasers in Chemistry, Organometallic Chemistry, Synthetic Methods, Biophysical Chemistry, Industrial Chemistry, Materials Science, and Surface Science.

The Department of Computer Science offers 3 undergrad programs. They are The Computer Science Major, The Mathematical and Computational Biology Major, and The Joint Major in Computer Science and Mathematics. The Department of Engineering offers courses in Engineering Mathematics, Experimental Engineering, Chemical and Thermal Processes, Materials Engineering, Engineering Clinic, Digital Electronics, Fluid Mechanics, Mass Transfer and Separation Processes, Engineering Electronics, Autonomous Robot Navigation, Dynamics of Elastic Systems, and Applied Elasticity. The Department of Humanities, Social Sciences, and Arts offers courses in Art, American Studies, Environmental Analysis, Economics, Literature, Media Studies, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religious Studies, etc. The Department of Physics offers courses in subjects like Astrophysics, Mechanics and Wave Motion, Gravitation, Quantum Mechanics, etc.

The notable alumni of Harvey Mudd College include American scientist Stanley G. Love, American physicist and former NASA scientist George Nelson, American computer scientist Donald D. Chamberlain, computer programmer Jonathan Gay, producer Michael G. Wilson, business analyst, and poker tournament player Joe Pelton, businessman Eric B. Kim, libertarian Patri Friedman, drummer Michael Tapper, mathematician Karl Mahlburg, American host Sean Plott, US businessman Nabeel Gareeb, professors Scott E. Fraser and John Haugeland, MIT professor J. Kim Vandiver, CEO of Lucid Sight Randy Saaf, American diplomat Richard Jones, architect Sage Weil, professor TJ Jankun-Kelly, Inventor Daniel Pivonka, American lawyer Robert Charrow, plant biologist Sharon R. Long, Executive Secretary of the National Space Council Scott Pace, inventor Erik Straser, and alpinist George Lowe.